Why Birthdays are Awesome

birthday21. You get to see where you came from. I turned 34 on Friday and realized that I remember when my mother was 34 years old. But instead of making me depressed, I actually felt better. I mean, my mom is loving her life right now. Her kids are grown, her grandkids are cute, and she’s pursing her dream of writing professionally. At 34, I see I’ve got a lot to look forward to.

2. You get to see where your going. Dan was gone on my actual birthday. We celebrated the night before andΒ  I made plans for a pizza/movie night with the kids. The funny thing was how the kids kept trying to make the night special. I didn’t have cake, so Jesse wanted to put candles in my dessert pizza. None of my gifts had been wrapped since Dan took me shopping and my mom gave me money. This didn’t seem right to Ada. She wrapped up a tube of lip gloss that was ALMOST full and threw in a small package of SweeTarts. At 34, I see I’ve got a lot to look forward to.

3. You get really fun stuff. Gold earrings (from Mom’s money) mean I can wear earrings again – I have very sensitive ears which translates to needing more than $10 to buy earrings! A stylish gray scarf, coordinating gray pants (think Audrey Hepburn), and a night out with my husband means I’m recharged and refreshed. 3/4 a tube of pink glitter lipgloss means I’m the best-loved 34 year-old in my house! : )

8 Comments

Filed under Family, General, love

8 responses to “Why Birthdays are Awesome

  1. Carol York

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday. My 8 year old spent my last birthday wrapping everything precious to him in a blanket and giving it to me to unwrap. I must have unwrapped a dozen things that day. I’m 36 and 1/2 and I know I still have a lot to look forward too. I still feel like I should be in my 20’s, though. I sometimes am in awe that I have a 5th grader and a 2nd grader! πŸ™‚

  2. Molly

    Very Sweet!

    Jude was horrified that I did not have a birthday cake this year. No cake? No wrapped presents? I hope he and Ada are not scarred for life, dreading birthdays when they get older! Ha!

  3. katieleigh

    Happy birthday! So glad you’ve got people who love you and make you feel special. That glitter lip gloss is just the last word in wonderful. πŸ™‚

  4. 4. You get homemade stuff. Molly brought me the cutest care package with my FAVORITE soup and french rolls. That soup got me through the weekend!

  5. Molly

    Ahhhh, glad to hear it Felic!

    And note to Serenity who I know will read this post: I SWEAR I did take your present to her on her birthday, and still wrapped. Ada must just not have gotten to witness that! πŸ™‚ (didn’t want her thinking I kept it or something!)

  6. So true! It was my only wrapped present and I totally opened it by myself after the kids were in bed. πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you muy mucho, Molly. I didn’t actually think of that when I read this, because I had already asked her and knew she got the gift. I love how hard your kids worked to make it special for you. Kids are awesome. And really, I agree with them. Adults should get actual presents. That thrill really never gets old. πŸ™‚ Also, I love this post!

Leave a Reply

