And also March Madness

I mentioned last year my love for Fantasy Football. For all the same reasons, I also love March Madness – the NCAA Tournament! This year my team, Missouri, actually is something to be proud of, but even when they are not, I love this season. Right now we are in the middle of the busiest four days of the tournament with games on TV almost every time you check. It is a good time for a Spring Break – lucky me.

I think, in part, my interest in writing is related to my interest in sports. When I was in middle school, my dad’s office used to get several magazine subscriptions sent to our house. He would later take them to his waiting room for patients to read. Sports Illustrated was one of those magazines, and I started flipping through its pages looking for pictures of teams I liked. What I found were stories – stories of people who happen to play sports. I especially learned to look forward to the very back page of the magazine. Rick Reilly wrote a short essay on the final page. He has to be one of the best writers ever. I probably ought to blame him for my interest in all kinds of sports and the people who play them.

I hope you enjoy your March Madness. Even if you don’t find the sport interesting, if you watch a game I think you can find a human interest story or two. And if the one on TV doesn’t work for you, maybe the best story is sitting in his recliner in front of that TV. Dad, brother, son – at least enjoy that story!

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Fun, General

7 responses to “And also March Madness

  1. serenitybohon

    I am loving March madness this year. I haven’t watched hardly any of it, but I love the way Michael and John have been glued to ESPN 3 on the computer. It’s cute. Last night I watched Wisconsin’s overtime win with John. With 2 seconds left, the announcer referenced your old crush, Christian Laettner, and I totally pictured you sitting there reading SI! I also had to ask Michael this morning why they referenced him, to which Michael responded with a You Tube video in which he and Grant Hill accomplished an amazing last second win some year against someone. 🙂

  2. Yes, I watched that last second win in the living room of the Edina house! It was during the height of my Laettner crush, so you can imagine how thrilled I was! (I always imagine you there, but I guess you don’t remember it.)

  3. LOL. I’m sure I was there!

  4. Lorena

    I thought of you earlier this week and how nice it was that March Madness happened to be during your spring break. Glad you have time to catch a few games.

  5. Kathy Nickerson

    I even think I remember that win. Or do I have it confused with another one? Anyway, I have great memories of your passion for sports and the people who play them. God probabably worked that into you for the sake of Dan and Jesse. 🙂

  6. Heather

    I am not a huge college basketball fan, although I often find myself rooting for the underdog. But I had to comment, because Rick Reilly is an AMAZING writer. I often think that he could write about anything, and I would read it. I remember an article he wrote years ago on dog-sledding. I almost didn’t read it because I have no interest in dog-sledding, but by the end of the article I was almost in tears.

  7. @ Heather, I totally and completely agree about Reilly. He really is fantastic – especially because his format is so short, the writing really has to be perfect to convey such great emotion and meaning.

Leave a Reply

