Do You Still Work Here?

I once edited a review on a book that examined the need for margins in a person’s life. The idea is that you need to build margins into your day to help you avoid stress and burn-out. 9:00 class run late? No problem, since you built in a 30 minute margin before your next appointment you won’t be tardy. You get the idea.

I remember thinking, how wise. How very smart. What a great way to say that.

But, I clearly don’t know how to do this in my own life. Seriously. I have NO margins!

When I have no margins, it is a household disaster when one of the kids is too sick for school. Since at least 2 out of 4 have taken turns being ill over the last week you can imagine my state of mind.

When I have no margins, the homework that I actually enjoy becomes a dreaded task. Since my finals week is perfectly corresponding to our outbreak of the Plague you can imagine my state of mind.

So, dear readers, here I am checking-in because I so very much love this venue and you’ve been sorely neglected. I do apologize, but since I was too busy squeezing in that editing job between my non-existent margins, I don’t even know the title of that book, so there is apparently no help for me.

When I called into work today my wonderful boss, noting the terrible weather and my challenging week, said, “Maybe this is just the day you needed to get yourself some rest.” I almost cried – further proof of margin-less living: tears when someone gives you a break.

So, I found a margin today in an unexpected way and I hope you do too.

5 Comments

Filed under General

5 responses to “Do You Still Work Here?

  1. Molly

    Is it Margin: restoring emotional, physical, financial, and time reserves to overloaded lives by Richard A. Swenson. Just wondered because we have that one in the library and thought that might be it.

  2. Molly

    And, Martha is the best boss, EVAH!

  3. Ha! Leave it to the Librarian! : ) Thanks, Mol.

  4. anna

    The Overload Syndrome also by Swenson… The back cover asks “do you wish you could check into a hospital just to get some sleep?” Yeah, that’s on my shelf and I’ll finish it when I have one of those 30 minute slots open up!

  5. Kathy Nickerson

    I actually build in margins now that I’m older and wiser (or less energetic.) I didn’t realize it until I read this post. For instance, on Host Family Night, I actually block the office schedule thirty minutes early. I know it could cost us a few dollars of income, but it saves my sanity when we get an unexpected walk-in patient who is really sick and we can see them and still have supper on the table when our girls arrive. I have several of those little tricks going these days, and it really helps. Of course, I don’t have four little children’s schedules to tuck into mine. That helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

