More Diamond Connections

I took a strengths indicator test from the people at Gallup Press a while back and they tell me my greatest strength is Connectedness. I think this is one reason I LOVE the Internet so much. Becky’s blog party yesterday was just Wonderful for a person whose strength is Connectedness!

This comes from the book that describes Connectedness:

Things happen for a reason. You are sure of it. You are sure of it because in your soul you know that we are all connected. Yes, we are individuals, responsible for our own judgments and in possession of our own free will, but nonetheless we are part of something larger.

Isn’t that the best thing about taking a personality quiz or a what-kind-of-dog-are-you quiz – the recognition of something true about yourself that had not previously been identified in words? I love that feeling – probably because I love Connectedness!

I think this is also why I love analogies; a good analogy demonstrates the connected nature of our universe. Comparing women with precious stones (diamonds et all) reminds me of how smart God is, how he has encoded all these messages within creation just waiting for us to discover how they connect to us.

Here’s a good one about diamonds from this article:

The medieval Italians who were fond of seeking some hidden and significant meaning in the names of precious stones, in the case of the diamond (diamante), read the phrase amante di Dio, or “lover of God.” (Italian MS. of the fourteenth century in the author’s library; fol. 41b.) This was a reason for regarding the brilliant gem as a sacred stone and one especially suitable for religious use.

Lovers of God – that’s us! I feel SO connected to you right now!

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “More Diamond Connections

  1. How beautiful!
    I love the idea of being connected as well. I’ll have to take that test.
    I think that’s what I love best about doing a blog–making new connections with people all over and writing about connections I see in the world!
    Great post!
    Becky

Leave a Reply

