How Can I Help You?

This is Macy, my 1 year-old, helping Ada, my 4 year-old, clean the kitchen. To explain, they were using a water bottle and paper towels. I’m pretty sure they didn’t make things worse, and they were very proud of themselves.

Today our pastor gave the church a new motto: “How can I help you?” Macy gets that, even at 1. You might say she isn’t smart enough to realize that she shouldn’t enjoy helping her sister do something.

Christians are a small percentage of the general population. Despite this fact, we find more reasons to separate from each other than to join forces. What if we all tried asking each other this simple question more often. Instead of criticizing, instead of analyzing, what if we just asked, “How can I help you?”

Macy doesn’t even know exactly what she was supposed to be doing with that paper towel, she just wanted to help her sister. I think sometimes I let my inexperience or my doubts about how it is all going to work out keep me from offering to help. As usual, I’d be a better Rare Rock if I had faith like a child!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, General

One response to “How Can I Help You?

  1. Kathy Nickerson

    As my friend Jan Seargent would say, “This just puddled me.”
    Grammakathy

Leave a Reply

