Zelophehad’s Daughters

Recently I entered writer Jason Boyett’s Fake Band Name Contest. I was a finalist with this awesome fake band name: Daughters of Zelophehad. I totally, totally didn’t win, but I actually grew quite attached to my entry. You know why? Because it represents one of the greatest girl-power passages in all of Scripture! Check it out in Numbers 27.

I’ll sum up. Just before Moses died, he and Aaron were in charge of dividing up the Promised Land between all the Israelites. When they didn’t hear their names called, the daughter’s of a probably awesome guy named Zelophehad took their case to Moses.  Just because we’re girls doesn’t mean we shouldn’t get an inheritance, too! Moses took it to God and God said, “What Zelophehad’s daughters are saying is right.” They got land just like everyone else.

I forgot how much I liked the story of Zelophehad’s Daughters. I may have imagined an all-girl punk band when I entered Jason’s contest, but now I’m thinking of all the women I know who have demonstrated the same kind of faith in justice and taken action. I think I could write about them …

4 Comments

Filed under General

4 responses to “Zelophehad’s Daughters

  1. Molly

    I love that story. I will never forget a message I heard Buck preach on it once.

    Sorry you didn’t win, I voted for you! 🙂

  2. Very cool reminder. And I really think you should have won.

  3. Kathy Nickerson

    And you should certainly write on it!

  4. That is an awesome name, and an even, um, awesomer story.

Leave a Reply

