Dads Matter

Tragic news this week from Nashville that the youngest daughter of Steven Curtis Chapman, Maria, was killed in an accident at their home. News like this sends me into a tail spin of emotions (we lost an infant daughter 5 years ago and the randomness still haunts me), but I have one focus today: dads matter.

Steven Curtis Chapman is almost as well known for his reputation as a great dad as he is for his prolific music career. He and his wife created an incredible foundation called Shaohanna’s Hope. The Chapman’s adopted three daughters from China themselves, and the foundation is helping other families do the same.

In a time of loss such as the one the Chapman’s are experiencing now, I would venture to say that none of their public ministries are as important to them as the clearly loving job they have done as parents. Chapman wrote a song that my husband jokingly says he hates, “Cinderella.” He only says that because as a father of three daughters it makes him breakdown and cry every single time he hears it. The message of the song is that even when the pressures of life are pushing us to rush past a moment, instead, we should take the time to “dance with Cinderella … ‘Cause all too soon the clock will strike midnight/ And she’ll be gone.”

I hate that this family is facing the sadness of this loss, but I know the power of the faith we share. It is a faith that does not always provide answers, but always gives comfort. I know this: I am so glad little Maria got to experience her earthly life with a father that loved her and made time for her. If our world was full of dads like Steven Curtis Chapman, we would see a world full of beautiful little girls grow up to be confident, powerful women who make a difference.

Listen to this song today and remember the little Rare Rocks in your life. And say a prayer for the Chapman’s; I know they are glad they made the choice to celebrate Maria’s life everyday, but I also imagine they mourn the fact that they are so aware of that choice right now.

6 Comments

Filed under Family, General

6 responses to “Dads Matter

  1. Beautifully written. I went to the dedication blog for her and watched the video of her with the dishes and whoa…it’s just all so sad. But you’re right, it looks like she had a father who loved her for the short time she was here and there are countless women and girls who would give almost anything for that kind of love.

  2. What a beautiful post. Very well said.
    I’ll be praying.
    Becky

  3. Anne Dayton

    You know how you said your husband hates the song Cinderella because it makes him cry? Yeah. That’s how I feel about this post.

  4. Kathy Nickerson

    Thanks for tackling this sad issue with such grace, Felic. I’m glad you are my Rare Rock.
    love,
    mom

  5. Etta says : I absolutely agree with this !

  6. Pingback: Maria Chapman | Serenity Now

Leave a Reply

