Tag: Nearest Book

This Tag came from Anne of Good Girl Lit. I’ve seen it on a few other blogs and thought, that’s kind of cute – I hope no one sends it to me. And then Anne picked me and I was like, oh, how sweet! I’m one of her blog friends! Then the remorse hits. I don’t have enough blog friends to send this Tag on. I have all the same friends as Serenity.

But, anyway, here are the rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

Since I use my laptop all over the house, I waited until I got to my room to put this Tag in action. On my bedside table is Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird. This is one of the most famous books on writing. I’m still trying to find the time to read it all, but I’ve enjoyed it so far.

Page 123 is in a chapter called “Jealousy.” You should know that Lamott is sarcastic and brutally honest. I love her style. In this instance, she is writing about what will happen to you, a writer, when your friend, also a writer, finds success. It is hilarious in a sadly true kind of way:

You are going to have a number of days in a row where you hate everyone and don’t believe in anything. If you do know the author whose turn it is, he or she will inevitably say that it will be your turn next, which is what the bride always says to you at each successive wedding, while you grow older and more decayed. It can wreak just the tiniest bit of havoc with your self-esteem to find that you are hoping for small bad things to happen to this friend –for, say, her head to blow up.

See what I mean, you laugh to yourself thinking, that’s outrageous, and then you think, and kind of true. Humanity. Thank God for Jesus (as one of my friends used to say).

If you are reading this and you have a blog, you are tagged! That means you Lori and Andrea and Amy B. (And now don’t you feel like I just put a chain letter in your hands? You know bad things will happen if you don’t send it on. Which means I’m doomed!)

5 Comments

Filed under Fun, Tag

5 responses to “Tag: Nearest Book

  1. Tracy

    Felicity… I read your comment on the Good Girls Lit blog and had to let you know how EMPHATICALLY I agree with your opinion on those forwards that presume to tell you that you don’t really love God if you don’t forward them on. I actually get great satisfaction out of deleting them.
    But wait. What a great way to get what you want. It could work with absolutely anything. You don’t really love God unless you… (fill in the blank). The possibilities are endless. I may have to rethink my stand.

  2. This book is on my Top 10 Books of All Time list. And I love this passage.

    I think I speak for a lot of people when I say that I’m so thankful Anne Lamott is a Christian. We don’t get a lot of voices talking about how you wish your friend’s head would blow up.

  3. Felicity, I know I am late on this, but I just set up a blog mainly for the sole purpose of being able to be on your blog list (ok mabye not the sole purpose), but you could add me before Serenity then you would be special.

  4. Consider it done! I’m always looking out for my cool cousins!

  5. I got your tag from Andrea, who has been my best friend since 1982. Our girls, Audrey & Sarah, are 5 days apart, and also best friends. I heard many stories about you & your sister when Andrea & Roger would visit you.

    I love your blog. Thanks for sharing what’s in your heart. Please feel free to visit mine anytime, too. Love, peace, & music every day….

    Shiuvaun

Leave a Reply

