Skipping Disciples

My daughters are learning about Jesus in Sunday School. A few weeks ago they acted out the portion of Scripture where Jesus calls His disciples to follow Him. In their pre-school world this was great fun involving hand motions and walks around the room. They laughed and giggled telling me all about it, “I told Claire – follow me – and she gotted up and we skipped to Teacher!” In real life I don’t think discipleship hardly ever involves skipping. Dietrich Bonhoeffer wrote a deep book on the subject and cost is the key word in his title.

I’ve always found the cost to be pretty high. A friend of mine was recently accepted to West Point and began her summer in boot camp. While the rest of her high school friends were sucking the fun out of their last summer before college, Charity went straight into Hell Week, or something like it. Reports to home included the horror story that she had been in trouble one day for smiling too much. We were instructed to send her mail only if it was in a plain white envelope with her name and address in a very exact manner. The instructions alone seemed so complicated that I gave up even thinking about sending her a note – I wouldn’t want my Hallmark stamp to get her 20 push-ups or something!

But just as I really started to worry about sweet-spirited Charity in such an unkind environment, I had a vision of her graduating from West Point in a bright uniform and shiny hat. I remembered the honor that it was to be a West Point cadet and I felt proud. Sure, what she was facing was difficult and intense, but what she would receive – the honor, respect, and admiration – would be worth it.

Charity is paying the price right now, the cost of discipleship, but in a few years she will reap the benefits. She will stand out in the world as a Rare Rock. I’m going to remember this the next time I want my discipleship process to look more like skipping and less like plain white envelopes. I’m going to remember not just the cost of discipleship but also its reward: a walk around the room of life with Jesus!

1 Comment

Filed under Cut

One response to “Skipping Disciples

  1. Ken

    Loved your article in Radiant Magazine on Corrie Ten Boom! Stay in touch.

    Ken
    http://www.missionaryroad.com

Leave a Reply

