What does a living stone look like?

In the beginning of my adventures with diamonds, I wanted to check out something first…is there anything in the Bible that would send my analogy crashing into the heresy slush pile?

I researched the 4 C’s of diamond grading and found corresponding spiritual principles.  Carat – the destiny God has for our lives.  Color – the power of our unique personality. Clarity – the value of purity. And Cut – the process of becoming the “most beautiful.”  This worked, but where in the Bible had I seen anything about diamonds?

I Peter 2:5 “you also, as living stones, are being built up as a spiritual house for a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.”

Living stones.  In the past, I have always imagined these living stones like hollow gray bricks.  The big kind that they use to build churches in Mexico.  And this is sort of the way I imagined my own Christianity – substantial but a little boring.  The “living” part only helped my imagination put little google eyes on the bricks or something.  Not that inspiring.

But another of my favorite verses came to mind.  Revelation 21 is a beautiful description of what our eternal life will be like: “And the city has no need of the sun or of the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God has illumined it, and its lamp is the Lamb.”  Beautiful.  The rest of the chapter is just as inspiring, and here is where I got it.  Verses 18 and 19 “The material of the wall was jasper; and the city was pure gold, like clear glass. The foundation stones of the city wall were adorned with every kind of precious stone…”

Now that is my kind of living stone.  Instead of imagining the City of God as a dark medieval castle, I saw something more like the Emerald City from The Wizard of Oz.  Only better.  These foundation stones are described as “precious stones.”  Precious stones are diamonds, rubies, emeralds.  They are transparent and full of color, not murky and dull.  In my mind, these bricks are like huge Jolly Rancher candies!  Now I’m getting inspired.

So, this is my shaky but legitimate Biblical support for comparing women and diamonds.  If I’m going to be referred to as a “living stone,” I want that mental picture to be more like a brilliant diamond and less like a chunky cinder block!

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “What does a living stone look like?

  1. Don White

    You are one of the most brilliant “living stone” diamonds that I have ever met!!!

Leave a Reply

